Feel Better Tips

As the seasons change, most of us will experience periods of feeling weak, sweaty and nauseous. Vomiting, nausea, fever and headaches can happen all at once or on their own.

Luckily, Gravol® Multi-Symptom®, with the medicinal and natural ingredients of ginger and willow bark can help, as it’s an antinauseant, pain reliever and fever reducer all-in-one!

Whether experiencing all symptoms or just one or two – relieve pain naturally by considering useful tips to get back to your best in no time.

Take an Epsom salt bath.

Epsom salt, rich in both magnesium and sulfate, is known to replenish magnesium levels in the body which has many health benefits. Soaking in an Epsom salt bath for at least 12 minutes, 3 times a week can help flush toxins, ease muscle pains and relieve stress, inflammation, pain, muscle cramps as well as ease and prevent migraine headaches.1

Drink clear liquids.

Drinking clear liquids is the first step to reducing vomiting or nausea. Water has many benefits that can help dehydration caused by vomiting. Dehydration can also be the reason for headaches, back aches, cramps and tiredness. Consuming small amounts of clear, sweetened liquids such as sports drinks, non-acidic fruit juices and popsicles can reduce the urge to vomit, as drinks containing sugar calm the stomach better.2

Consider taking natural remedies.

Ginger has been used for over 2000 years in Chinese cultures to prevent the symptoms of nausea and vomiting associated with motion sickness, postoperative nausea and seasickness. Willow bark, also prevalent in Chinese cultures, is used to relieve headache, fever and mild aches and pains. Now, with the increasing demand for natural products, it’s easier to find naturally sourced over-the-counter remedies. Products like Gravol® Multi-Symptom® tablets combine two traditional herbal medicines, ginger and willow bark, into an all-in-one antinauseant, pain reliever and fever reducer.

Rest and Rejuvenate.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommends staying home for at least 24 hours after a fever of 100º F is gone. A sufficient amount of sleep is vital since bodies produce extra protein molecules while one is sleeping which helps strengthen one’s ability to fight infection and stay healthy. These molecules help immune systems mend one’s body at a cellular level when stressed or exposed to compromising elements such as pollutants and infections bacteria.3

Eat simple, immunity-boosting foods.

A healthy immune system can help stop or combat infections. While the body is trying to fight off flu symptoms, it is important to consume foods that will help enhance one’s immunity. Eating foods that are high in protein such as bananas are great for strengthening the body. Foods that contain flavonoids such as apples and cranberries will also strengthen the immune system. If the stomach is too uneasy to have these foods however, it is best to start with plain toast or crackers since they are easily digested and won’t cause further stomach upset.4

  1. 1Health Benefits from Epsom Salt Baths. June 2010.

    http://www.care2.com/greenliving/health-benefits-of-epsom-salt-baths.html?page=2

  2. 2The Cleveland Clinic Foundation. Diseases and Conditions: Nausea and Vomiting. 2010.

    http://my.clevelandclinic.org/symptoms/nausea/hic_nausea_and_vomiting.aspx

  3. 3Benefits of Sleep. 2011.

    http://www.better-sleep-better-life.com/benefits-of-sleep.html

  4. 4Mental Power and the Mind. Best Foods to Eat When You Have the Flu. May 2011.

    http://www.mentalpowerandthemind.com/mindpower/best-foods-to-eat-when-you-have-the-flu

Conseils pour se sentir mieux

Les changements de saison entraînent souvent des malaises tels que faiblesses, sueurs et nausées. Les vomissements, la nausée, la fièvre et les maux de tête peuvent survenir simultanément ou isolément.

Heureusement, il y a Gravol® Multi-Symptom®. Grâce au gingembre et à l’écorce de saule qu’il contient, des ingrédients médicinaux et naturels, il peut soulager du même coup la nausée, la douleur et la fièvre !

Peu importe que ces symptômes se manifestent tous ensemble ou séparément, suivez nos conseils pour obtenir un soulagement de façon naturelle et remettez-vous vite sur pied.

Prenez un bain de sel d’Epsom.

Le sel d’Epsom, riche en magnésium et en sulfate, est reconnu pour sa capacité à rétablir les taux de magnésium du corps et à offrir de nombreux bienfaits pour la santé. Un bain de sel d’Epsom d’au moins 12 minutes trois fois par semaine peut contribuer à chasser les toxines et à soulager les douleurs musculaires, le stress, l’inflammation, la douleur et les crampes, et à atténuer et prévenir les migraines1.

Buvez des liquides clairs.

La première chose à faire pour réduire les vomissements ou les nausées est de boire des liquides clairs. L’eau offre de nombreux bienfaits qui peuvent aider l’organisme à compenser la déshydratation entraînée par les vomissements. La déshydratation peut également causer des maux de tête, des douleurs dorsales, des crampes et de la fatigue. La consommation de petites quantités de liquides clairs et sucrés tels que boissons de sport, jus de fruits et friandises glacées non acides peut diminuer le besoin de vomir, car les boissons sucrées calment plus efficacement les maux d’estomac2.

Les remèdes naturels, une solution à envisager.

Le gingembre est un remède traditionnel de la culture chinoise depuis plus de 2000 ans. Il contribue à prévenir la nausée et les vomissements associés au mal du transport, aux suites d’une chirurgie et au mal de mer. L’écorce de saule, également présente dans la culture chinoise, soulage les maux de tête, la fièvre et les douleurs légères. De nos jours, en raison de la demande croissante de produits naturels, il est plus facile de trouver des médicaments de source naturelle en vente libre. Des produits tels que les comprimés Gravol® Multi-Symptom® réunissent deux plantes médicinales, le gingembre et l’écorce de saule, en un seul produit qui soulage la nausée, la douleur et la fièvre.

Reposez-vous et récupérez.

Les CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention – aux États-Unis) recommandent de rester à la maison au moins 24 heures après la disparition d’une fièvre de 100º F. Il est essentiel de dormir suffisamment, car en période de sommeil, le corps fabrique des molécules de protéines supplémentaires qui renforcent la capacité de l’organisme à combattre l’infection et à rester en santé. Ces molécules aident le système immunitaire à réparer le corps au niveau cellulaire, en cas de stress ou d’exposition à des éléments nuisibles comme les polluants et les infections bactériennes3.

Mangez des aliments simples et stimulants pour le système immunitaire.

Un système immunitaire sain peut contribuer à enrayer ou à combattre les infections. Pendant que le corps lutte contre les symptômes de la grippe, il est important de consommer des aliments qui renforcent le système immunitaire. Des aliments riches en protéines, comme les bananes, sont tout indiqués pour redonner des forces à l’organisme. La consommation d’aliments qui contiennent des flavonoïdes tels que les pommes et les canneberges contribue également au bon état du système immunitaire. Toutefois, si l’estomac est dérangé et qu’il est impossible de consommer ces aliments, il vaut mieux commencer par manger une tranche de pain grillée ou des craquelins sans garniture, facilement digestibles, pour ne pas aggraver les maux d’estomac4.

  1. 1Health Benefits from Epsom Salt Baths. Juin 2010.
    http://www.care2.com/greenliving/health-benefits-of-epsom-salt-baths.html?page=2 (anglais seulement)
  2. 2The Cleveland Clinic Foundation. Diseases and Conditions: Nausea and Vomiting. 2010.
    http://my.clevelandclinic.org/symptoms/nausea/hic_nausea_and_vomiting.aspx (anglais seulement)
  3. 3Benefits of Sleep. 2011.
    http://www.better-sleep-better-life.com/benefits-of-sleep.html (anglais seulement)
  4. 4Mental Power and the Mind. Best Foods to Eat When You Have the Flu. Mai 2011.
    http://www.mentalpowerandthemind.com/mindpower/best-foods-to-eat-when-you-have-the-flu (anglais seulement)