About Ginger

This popular culinary ingredient has uses that go
way beyond the kitchen

Ginger may be used to help treat a number of conditions that you and your family may experience, including nausea and vomiting. You can also look to ginger to alleviate your upset stomach. This may come in the form of:

  • Lack of appetite
  • Digestive spasms
  • Indigestion
  • Dyspepsia, a condition whose symptoms include feeling full earlier than expected when eating, as well as chronic or recurring pain in the upper abdomen
  • Flatulent colic, a feeling characterized by severe pain in the abdomen due to spasm or obstruction.

How to take ginger

You can take ginger in a number of ways, from incorporating it into your diet to taking tablets, chewable lozenges or natural ginger ale.

How to eat ginger

There are a number of ways that ginger likely makes its way into your diet on a regular basis, such as in your curries, your pork roasts and your holiday loaves. You can eat ginger root dried, fresh, pickled, preserved, ground, crystallized, or candied. When preparing ginger, be sure to wash it and peel off the outer skin with a paring knife, then grate, slice or chop the inner flesh. You can then hydrate it by soaking it in liquid, such as water, vegetable broth or chicken broth, or you may want to add to a soup or casserole. Pairing pickled ginger with sushi is also a common way to enjoy the ingredient.
Alternatives to including ginger in your diet include drinking ginger tea or natural ginger ale made from soda water, lemon and ginger powder.

What is ginger?

Chinese and South Asian cultures have a centuries-long history of using ginger as a digestive aid. Traditionally used in herbal medicine as an upset stomach reliever1, ginger has been clinically demonstrated to help prevent nausea and vomiting associated with motion sickness and/or seasickness.2

A natural blood thinner, ginger is made up of medicinal components that lessen the ability of blood platelets to stick together helping to increase circulation. In the digestive system, certain components of ginger help decrease nausea and vomiting.3

Gravol® Natural Source® Ginger Tablets and Gravol® Natural Source® Ginger Lozenges

  • Gravol® Natural Source® Ginger products are made with certified organic Ginger (the only active ingredient) for the prevention and treatment of nausea and vomiting. Gravol® Natural Source® Products are a natural alternative remedy to original Gravol® with Dimenhydrinate.
  • Each dose of Gravol® Natural Source® Ginger contains the equivalent of 500 mg of real Ginger dried root.
  • Gravol® Natural Source® Ginger products are absent of Dimenhydrinate, and do not cause drowsiness, allowing you and your children (6 years +) to remain alert and carry on with your regular routine.
  • Gravol® Natural Source® Ginger products are available in easy to swallow tablets with no aftertaste, and soft chewable lozenges.
  • Gravol® Natural Source® Ginger products are safe for adults and children over the age of six.
  • Read complete directions on product label before use.
  • The medicinal ingredient Ginger is not contraindicated for pregnant women. All pregnant women, however, should consult their health care practitioner before taking medication of any sort.
  1. Health Canada Monograph, January 2008: http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/dhp-mps/prodnatur/applications/licen-prod/monograph/mono_ginger-gingembre-eng.php
  2. Ibid
  3. Natural Health Techniques: www.naturalhealthtechniques.com/Product_information/Herb_Ginger.htm

À propos du gingembre

Au-delà de sa popularité en cuisine, le gingembre
peut servir à bien d’autres usages.

Le gingembre peut servir à traiter de nombreux troubles que vous et votre famille pourriez éprouver, y compris la nausée et les vomissements. Il peut également soulager des malaises digestifs tels que :

  • La perte d’appétit
  • Les spasmes digestifs
  • L’indigestion
  • La dyspepsie, un trouble dont les symptômes comprennent une impression de satiété plus rapide que prévu, de même que des douleurs chroniques ou récurrentes dans la région supérieure de l’abdomen
  • Les coliques flatulentes, caractérisées par des douleurs graves à l’abdomen dues à des spasmes ou à une obstruction.

Comment prendre le gingembre

Vous pouvez prendre le gingembre de différentes façons : dans votre alimentation ou sous forme de comprimés, de pastilles à croquer ou de soda au gingembre naturel.

Les façons de consommer la racine de gingembre

Vous pouvez intégrer le gingembre à votre alimentation courante de plusieurs façons, en l’ajoutant, entre autres, à vos caris, rôtis de porc et gâteaux aux fruits. La racine de gingembre se consomme séchée, fraîche, marinée, en conserve, moulue, cristallisée ou confite. Avant d’employer le gingembre frais, assurez-vous de le laver et d’en retirer la fine peau extérieure avec un couteau à légumes ; ensuite vous pouvez râper, trancher ou hacher la chair. Vous pouvez le tremper dans un liquide, soit de l’eau, du bouillon de légumes ou de poulet, ou l’ajouter à vos soupes ou plats en casserole. Accompagner les sushis de gingembre mariné est une autre excellente façon de savourer cet ingrédient.

L’ajout du gingembre à l’alimentation n’est pas le seul choix qui s’offre à vous ; vous pouvez également boire du thé au gingembre ou du soda au gingembre naturel fait de soda, de citron et de poudre de gingembre.

Qu’est-ce que le gingembre?

Dans les cultures chinoises et sud-asiatiques, on emploie le gingembre depuis des siècles pour faciliter la digestion. Utilisé traditionnellement en phytothérapie pour soulager les malaises digestifs1, il a été démontré cliniquement que le gingembre aide à prévenir les nausées et les vomissements associés au mal des transports ou au mal de mer2

Anticoagulant naturel, le gingembre se compose de substances médicinales qui diminuent la capacité d’agrégation des plaquettes sanguines, activant ainsi la circulation. Dans le système digestif, certaines composantes du gingembre contribuent à réduire la nausée et les vomissements.3

Comprimés Gravol® Gingembre de source naturelle et Pastilles tendres Gravol® Gingembre de source naturelle

  • Les produits Gravol® de source naturelle sont faits de gingembre certifié biologique, le seul ingrédient actif qui prévient et soulage les nausées et les vomissements. Les produits Gravol® de source naturelle offrent une solution de rechange à la formule traditionnelle de Gravol® avec dimenhydrate.
  • Chaque dose de Gravol® Gingembre de source naturelle contient l’équivalent de 500 mg de racine de gingembre séchée.
  • Les produits Gravol® de source naturelle sans dimenhydrinate n’entraînent pas de somnolence. Vous et vos enfants (6 ans et plus) pouvez donc demeurer alertes et poursuivre vos occupations.
  • Les produits Gravol® Gingembre de source naturelle sont est offerts en comprimés faciles à avaler, sans arrière-goût, et en pastilles molles à croquer.
  • Les produits Gravol® Gingembre de source naturelle sont sûrs pour les adultes et les enfants de plus de six ans.
  • Veuillez lire le mode d’emploi complet sur l’emballage du produit avant usage.
  • Le gingembre comme ingrédient médicinal n’est pas contre-indiqué chez les femmes enceintes. Toutefois, aucune femme enceinte ne devrait prendre quelque médicament que ce soit avant d’avoir consulté un professionnel de la santé.
  1. Monographie de Santé Canada, janvier 2008 : http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/dhp-mps/prodnatur/applications/licen-prod/monograph/mono_ginger-gingembre-fra.php
  2. Ibid
  3. Natural Health Techniques: www.naturalhealthtechniques.com/Product_information/Herb_Ginger.htm